Snake biting

One begins to think after living here in the jungle for 10 years that you have done ,seen and tasted everything . New surprises happen almost daily and today was another of those surprises.

My favourite guide from Uxmal came by today for lunch with some of his clients after taking them to see the  Ruta Puuc . This is the only place he will come to eat because of the freshness of the food and of course we get to visit .

As he was passing on his way he dropped in some meat and asked if we could cook it when he returned . The chef marinated it in sour orange and achiote …. the most common way of marinating meat in this region ready for Jorge’s return before cooking

I was informed it was snake meat , yes snake meat you read correctly but as Jorge always like to make jokes I was not sure . He told me he killed it last night and found a neighbour to skin it for him . As he took off with his clients I was curious to sneak a view ….. sure enough it was snake .

I knew he would offer me a bite so I was anticipating his arrival again with curiosity   . So yes I took a sample from him and ate ! Not bad , I said . And yes I would eat it again !

 

 

 

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Food/drinks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snake biting

  1. dibot1 says:

    that would be interesting to try. What did it taste like?

  2. It was and something I never thought I would… Not even some of the staff have ever eaten it either… so they were impressed that I tried it . It actually tasted like chicken and they say Iguanas have the same taste… Not tried that yet!!
    Valerie

  3. dibot1 says:

    I was thinking it might taste like chicken. I think alligator might fall into that category as well. 😎

  4. Tara says:

    Brave of you to try! I would probably too! Photos of the food are making my mouth water -looks delish!

Leave a comment