Deck the halls…..fa la la la

It is that time of year again when it is time for decorating the tables.. Christmas trees or however you like to arrange your Christmas decorations

Christmas lights are being erected in some homes and one would think we are in Europe , Canada or the U SA with the amount of lights some homes are displaying. We always associate Christmas with snow but here in the tropics the lights, for me, seem out of place. But it is what one becomes accustomed to.

At least the spirit is alive and the giving is just as profound .

 

For some reason this year I decided to get more involved with the table decorations… or maybe because I found this amazing store in Merida which ironicly is called Miguels…. a take ,I assume, from the store we have in Canada called Micheals where you can buy anything you need for craft making .

Below is what came out of my shopping spree…

The wreath I totally dismantled the purple adornments that I had last year and went back to the traditional Red … so now it has a new look .

image

Off with the old

image

On with the new

 

I always find it difficult to get in the spirit of Christmas because every business I have owned and operated always centred around Christmas¬† and by the time Christmas rolled around I was so tired and a little tired of the Christmas thing ..to really be in the spirit !. I don’t go overboard with decorations just a few selected pieces .

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wishing all a very merry Christmas and a happy new year from all of us at The Pickled Onion

 

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Deck the halls…..fa la la la

  1. Donna N says:

    Absolutely stunning and not at all Mexican looking but I understand what you mean by the Christmas spirit here in Mexico. I have bubble lights in my window and that is as far as I am going with decorations. Merry Christmas to you Valerie.

  2. Beautiful Val – one day we will be there for Christmas! Hoping for next year! Have a wonderful Christmas & a happy new year and best wishes for 2016 !

  3. Thank you Donna I am sure you will have sufficient decorations just to remind you of the season
    Are you cooking the turkey on the beach like they do in Australia ? ha ha
    Have a wonderful Christmas and all the very very best for New Yeear
    hugs
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

