It,s finished !

P1000769

Many of you will recognize the entrance to The Pickled Onion from previous visits . It served well over the years and has become somewhat of a land mark along the Ruta Puuc .

But the time had come to re construct the outside appearance . Not that there was any fear of unwanted visitors or an open invite for more unsavory characters, as I  have felt and feel very safe and secure in the 8 years that I have been here. It was just that in the really busy times there would be people looking for a room for the night that would arrive late in the night and it would disrupt other guests and myself . Some people were not considerate of the time ,arriving at 1 am in the morning hours or even later , ringing the bell profusely or calling out the infamous “bueno”until I awoke and acknowledged their presence .

I must profess I am a very deep, sound  sleeper . I know this because once I slept through earth shaking tremors in Guatemala, to the surprise of my hostess .

So the time really had come to do something about it….

A few years ago one of my employees  brother ( from the village )was going through architecture school so to help him with his fees I asked him to draw me up a plan for the entrance way.He did an amazing design …. but at the time there was no spare cash to make it happen, until this year .The design was quite modern and in my mind did not really suit the concept of the place..but the basic plan could be altered so  with a few changes we made it happen.

DSCN1581

It was ,nt that easy really with the lay of the land but we did it!

With the gates closed I can now actually close a couple of days in the quiet times to enjoy my place alone… When I did try to close  before invariably when I decided to take a swim someone would arrive to see if I was open…and I would have to jump out of the pool throw on a cover to go and explain why I was closed.Now I close the gate with a sign saying closed for the day and I refuse to answer any “bueno” calls…. Ahhhh! peace…. we all need it sometimes so we can rejuvenate ourselves .

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It,s finished !

  1. Alexis says:

    Valerie, the new entry looks wonderful and good for you if you can truly have a day or two off!

  2. Beautiful job! Looks like it was there all along!

  3. Thank you.I am so lucky to have great albanils … they are always on time and work extremely hard .

  4. If you can believe this was done in less than three weeks!!

  5. Heather says:

    can’t believe the professional touches and changes from all those rocks you first worked with in the beginning, Valerie. All this in 8 years?! Take a bow, lady. I would never recognize the place….it was always a work in progress.

  6. Hello Heather…. No I dont think you would recognize the place now so many changes…. but all for the better! I would love for you to come and see it…. You were one of my first guests and my best supporter thank you
    hugs
    Valerie

  7. Rae Ann says:

    Such a wonderful new addition and we know very well how important days off now and then! Great job….enjoy some private time ….you deserve it!😊

  8. Janet Adamson says:

    Valerie
    It looks beautiful and functional. It will give you some well deserved respite . Can’t wait to visit and see all the changes in person.
    Janet A

  9. Elvira Jimenez says:

    Very nice, Valerie! Agree tus albañiles son muy buenos!

  10. Gracias Elvira pero tengo otra idea para exhibir algo baja el letrero …… si sale bien mis ideas entonces voy a sacar otro fotos como ver .
    abrazos
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

