Mot Mot/Toh

In the year 2010 I posted a blog about a Mot Mot that came to visit me in one of the casitas that were under construction at the time >Bird Festival and my visiting MOT MOT 10/2 2010< . I cannot believe I have been writing the blog all this time … how times flies !

DSCN1399

When I took the photos and wrote  the blog I was so excited to see a baby Toh and my excitement at seeing them today is just the same.A couple of weeks ago I posted photos of the bird ,that I had snapped with my camera  ,onto Facebook .

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today I am posting more on my blog that I took yesterday.A whole family of them hanging around my ceiba tree… Was I excited or what? I don’t get much time to meditate these days but watching the birds for awhile it certainly stopped my mind from wandering from the daily chores . When we get in touch with nature we forget all the problems of the world as one takes a peek into the beauty that is around us.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

It seems that this is the bird most sought after for the keen photographers and bird watches . I hope you enjoy the photos as much as I enjoyed watching them.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mot Mot/Toh

  1. Elvira Jimenez says:

    They are beautiful Valerie! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Bev says:

    The only time I was fortunate enough to see beautiful Mot Mots was while visiting the nearby Uxmal ruins. Your post brings back that memory and makes me smile. You are so right about nature and how it affects us. Thank you for the poignant reminder.

    • Uxmal is a great place to see them.You can imagine my delight at seeing them on my property. At the front of the property there is an erosion that gives the appearance of a cave and that is where they are living. Yesterday I approached the area from the road and out flew about 7 or 8 of them… I am going to see if I can capture them on my camera taking flight.I am only a point and click camera person so not sure it I can do it… If I do get some decent shots I will post them.

Leave a Reply

