Whats in your backyard?

Do you know what you are growing in your own backyard? I knew I had this lovely tree that is always flowering , with a trunk that is strong, knarled into curious shapes but neveer knew its worth. That was until a couple of my guests that have their origen in  India , now living in N J ,pointed it out to me.

DSCN1269

 

First they were fascinated that I had the Neem trees planted and how they reminded them of India . As we talked about it the young man then pointed to another tree that I had ,telling me also how these tress are very beneficial for health and again are prevalant in India.

I was fascinated to learn of its properties and healing powers. The tree is caleed Moringa ! It was a sapling, when I was given the plant from one of my neighbours, and they not knowing what it was could not give me any information. So 5 years on, the information came from my guests…. I love how we get the knowledge when the time is right.

The Moringa tree is a drought tolerant medium sized evergreen tree that prefers warm, frost free climates to flourish…. What an ideal tree for the Yucatan!

It bears creamy white small clusters of flowers throughout the season , which then develops long slender dark-green edible seedpods with tapering ende .Inside there are round pea-sized seeds encased in a hull.

DSCN1271

The leaves being and excellent scource of portein that can be rarely found in any other herbs and green leafy vegetables. 100 g of fresh raw leaves provide 9.8g of protein or about 17.5% of daily required leverls . Dry powdered leaves contain a concentrated level of many aminio acids

Pods and seeds are a good soure of oleic acid

 

Fresh leaves and  growing tips are the richest scource of Vitamin A ,calcium,iron,copper, manganese zinc , selenium .

I have also found that the bees love the flowers on this tree also… so more benifits .

I was really surprised to find out all this information and excited at the same time.

DSCN1273

Pods and leaves -vitamin C

 

 

What do you have in your backyard?

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Plants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Whats in your backyard?

  1. Helena says:

    You are so fortunate to have this source of healing. I hope you are learning how to use all of the good ingredients. I am using herbs now, and the knowledge is endless.
    and the benefits are amazing. have fun.
    Love and blessings

    • Hello Helena
      I have found quite a few recipes of how to use this tree… I cannot wait to try them out.
      You always amaze me Helena ……. you are a true seeker of knowledge and I am so privileged to know you.
      from my heart to yours much love
      Valerie

  2. Diannbottomley@gmail.com says:

    Moringa tree’s grow well in Arizona as well. They are easy to propagate and are very hardy. Great thing is that all parts of this tree are edible. I have been networking with gardeners in my area to learn more about permaculture & agriscaping. Here’s a link from the group I network with-www.iagriscape.com. Some fun & interesting information. I would think the Yucatan would be a great place to use this type of growing food. Looking forward to my next visit to your area.

    • Hello Diann thank you so very much for this information . I checked out the webpage and it is very interesting.
      I have actually been doing this since the project of The Pickled Onion started without realizing .My aim was to grow fruit trees and herbs intermingled with the garden plants so that the guests could see how their morning fruit plate is grown. For example many know of Papaya but had no clue to how it was produced .Just last week I planted a type of pistachio tree that will attract the parrots into the garden when the time comes to bear fruit… All this is so exciting for me to learn and I am always learning … mother nature is wonderful!
      Hope to see you on your next visit
      Take care
      Valerie

  3. Hello, I just learned about moringa a couple of weeks ago. Turns out my cousin who lives in Chiapas has a lot of this trees in his property, and when a part of the family gathered for a wedding in Aguascalientes, he showed up with a sack of leaves to share. I’ve been reading all about this tree and I think it’s an amazing species. Regards!

    • Thank you for this information… I think this is really wonderful.Sometimes we forget things in our past until it is brought to our attention again.
      What a great memory you must have and thank you for sharing
      saludos
      Valerie

Leave a Reply

