Birds that flew into my garden this spring

It has been awhile since I published any news on the blog…. The trip I made in March was the last thing I did then it was back to the grind ,nose down, but head up…We had a bumper March and April doubled in rentals and the restaurant. It never ceases to amaze me the amount of people that come by…. I just feel so lucky that things are booming for The Pickled Onion… I thought that May may bring a sweet repose but it is not turning out to be so as of today we have been fully booked . But I do see a chance to re compose and finish some building ready for the high season again in July.

As I have stated before ( somewhere in the blog posts) I am not a photographer but I hope you like the birds that I captured. I was so excited to see this species, although common , venture into my garden for the first time. What drew them here was the fresh water in the fountain . We have so many hot hot days that the poor things were looking for refreshment.

DSCN1230

 

I was also privy to an array of Mot Mot (Toh) on the Flame Tree in front of my property . Not 1 not 2 but 5 I could not believe my eyes… and of course no camera to snap a photo. The next day I sat in the front part of the restaurant around the same time I had seen the Toh,s the day before but of course they did not appear… isnt this always the way though… but never mind I have the memory.

101_0483

Below are a few more photos that I managed to capture

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Wildlife/Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birds that flew into my garden this spring

  1. Heather says:

    Beautiful birds, Valerie! Do you know the name of the red/blue ones…..(painted bunting perhaps?)
    We just love those toh birds…the fact you had 5 must be mean you are special!

  2. Yes Heather they are the painted buntings….. there were about 4 of these too with their female partners but of course they dont have the same pretty colours

  3. Sharron McGrath says:

    The painted buntings are beautiful little birds. What colours are the toh birds.

Leave a Reply

