Parque de la venta/Canon de sumidero

one of the many Olmec heads

one of the many Olmec heads

Our day started with an early call… ready for another long day before arriving in San Cristobel de las Casas

Breakfast then off to see the Olmec heads in the Parque de la Venta. I was so happy to go and see these wonderful monuments but sad there was only 1 hour to do this… One of the reasons I do not like travelling in a group…. but it was the only way I could get away easily if it was organized. Dont get me wrong I like to be organized but I guess one could say I am a loner and an explorer, going alone does not bother me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Still I was glad that I got to visit the park . Not only the monuments but animals that were walking around  freely and of course the most dangerous behind bars….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh I must mention before I forget … this trip is a fund raiser for the I W C known as the international womens club of Marida.. The funds help to keep three young ladies in their university program… A quick mention that these three young ladies are able to get a better education through the funds from the I W C ..

Leaving Villahermosa and La venta park our next journey was to the Canon de Sumidera . The bus twisted and turned it.s  way through some wonderful country side scenery to our destination point a couple of hours later.

Most, headed off to the boat ready for the ride.

Again impressive splendiferous views , pleasant day all around.

I do have to mention though the amount of garbage in the water… Although we were told that it gets cleaned up on a regular basis .

Then the last stop of the day arriving at 6.30 pm in San Cristobel de las casas … Most of us were quite beat . Some stayed close to the hotel and a few other ventured out for a bite to eat . It seems there are several choices of Italian, French and Argentinian restaurants . So it seems one could not go wrong in this area…

I am not really a foodie but my main interest is the culture…. So off we go exploring !

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parque de la venta/Canon de sumidero

  1. Bob Adams says:

    Looks like a GREAT TRIP! Enjoy! (We’re all envious….)

Leave a Reply

