Sayil One of the ruins on the Ruta Puuc

I took a ride with a couple of guests on one of the local mototaxi,s ( remember my car broke down a week ago and still it is not fixed) so hence the taxi ride. It was fun though with the wind whipping around us as we speed down the road past Kabah and onto Sayil.

We did a tour around the Chocolate Museum first… well my friends did whilst I went into the snack restaurant for a nice cuppa hot chocolate and read my book and chatted with the workers. They are used to seeing me and they are always so pleasant, smiling all the time.

So we left there and continued to Sayil

Sayil is most known for its palace that stands majestically welcoming you as you enter the courtyard. It is beautiful, the place is peaceful and for most ,the tourists only see the main structure which is really a pity.

The Palace as you enter the area of the ruins

The Palace as you enter the area of the ruins

If you walk along the paths that you see wandering off  into the jungle they will lead you into more mysteries of the Maya.

A jungle walk

A jungle walk

My guests were more interested in the Humming Birds that they had read about in the guide book. I left them there to wander around looking and I said I would take a walk further in. It has been a few years since I was there so I wanted to go and check it out again. First to the building where the hieroglyphs adorned an entrance but nearly buried by years of earth. I walked all around the building to see if I could see more then onto the south building.

The nearly buried doorway

The nearly buried doorway

close up .

close up .

There was no one except myself on the way going in and coming out and I think I was walking more than one and half hours. It was so peaceful and serene I could have stayed longer to sit and meditate but knew I had people waiting for me .

I followed the path , moving a little quicker now ,to the El Mirador building then onto see Yum Keep the God of fertility .

El Mirador

El Mirador

Yum Keep fertility symbol

Yum Keep fertility symbol

I came out of the jungle on a different path to see the awesome sight of the palace as the sun was starting to go down. And my friends wondering if I had got lost…. No everything is O K .. Did you see you humming birds? I asked. No , we didn’t they replied….

The Palace of Sayil

The Palace of Sayil

But they did not even attempt to come and see the other surprises down the pathways…. They thought it was just the palace…. I guess they did not hear me when I told them there were other sites to see in Sayil not just the palace ,as we were on our way to the site.

So if you do come to see the sites on the Ruta Puuc remember there is more to see than the guide books say.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sayil One of the ruins on the Ruta Puuc

  1. Donna Norstadt says:

    Yes, beautiful pictures. I remember feeling the same way about Sayil. The surprise is always down another path.

Leave a Reply

