Kiskadee bird of the Yucatan

The Kiskadee or in Maya Xtakay is a prevelant bird that hangs around or should I say ,flies around The Pickled Onion, make their nests and have young ones.As I do not have a camera at the moment (as you may have read in the last blog what happened) I took this painting that I had done awhile back from my files.

Kisadee

Kisadee

Zacaria came to me this morning with a baby Kiskadee that had fallen from the tree due to the very heavy rains we are experiencing for the last few days and said to continue for another week…. He/she looks like it can fly but the wings were so wet I think it made his/her body weak and could not fly around as usual. I have wrapped him/she in a towel and placed in a container along with some bird seed and  I keep checking in to see if all is well.He/she quickly fell asleep but I do hope when the wings dry he/she will fly again.

Update. The poor bird did not make it. I brought him into the house with food and water and he did seem perky as he soon jumped out of his little bed and wandered about the house.But then I heard his mothers cries so I thought I would put him under one of the poolside palapas hoping his mother would come for him.I left him there for about 1 hour then the rains came so I rushed out to bring him back indoors.As I picked him up I felt the coldness of his tiny body in my warm hands……. Oh  dear ,I thought to myself ,I dont think he will survive. I dropped water into his mouth and tried to give him food but within minutes he was gone.I must admit a tear rolled down my cheek as I gave him back to mother nature.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kiskadee bird of the Yucatan

  1. jorge castillejos esser says:

    hi valerie you can put a small container with water and sugar

  2. Heather says:

    Let us know if the kisdadee flies again, Valerie. We love that bird.

Leave a Reply

