Key problems solved.

I think I may have solved the key mystery…. well not really a mystery, you see people without realizing would walk off with a set of keys to the rooms……then I would have to do a trip into Ticul to get new ones made .

The key chains were just so easy to slip into the pockets that the guests just forgot.. although one person put it in her suitcase. That was certainly a mystery for me…. why would anyone put a room key in the suitcase ? I asked myself, perplexed. Well, it happened so be it!

P1000598

It was becoming a standing joke with the man in the hardware store…… But the last time I went into the store , I saw something that might just solve the issue……..

Cow Bells.!…… wow ! now there is an idea… so I bought as many as I needed for all the rooms and brought then home. The boys (workers) laughed at me when they saw them, making jokes that people would not take THOSE  Valerie.

Sometimes people could not remember which room they were in as all the rooms have Maya names and a little difficult to pronounce . At first I just wrote on the keys with a marker but the lettering started  to rub off . So I took out my paint brushes and started the task.

The cowbells key rings

The cowbells key rings

Now we have a bit more fun figuring out which room is coming in for lunch or dinner as we hear the sound of the cowbells jingling from afar. And not only that the staff also know which room to charge for when the guests order drinks, or food etc.

So, it seems to have been a good idea……….. no more lost keys , and the sound of the cowbells really go in with the theme of, being in the countryside…….

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Key problems solved.

  1. Marianne says:

    I love it. However, they may be so adorable that they tempt guests to keep them as souvenirs.

Leave a Reply

