Valentines Day at The Pickled Onion

Valentines Day at The Pickled Onion turned out to be a great evening enjoyed by all.
I enjoyed making the table centres that adorned the tables and I had brought lovely rosas, back from my Merida shopping for the restaurant, with me.

valenitnes day 002

I gave each lady a rose because I knew that it would not have been on the top of the list for the tourists and not only that most would not know where to buy one for their loved ones. Here in Mexico el dia de San Valentin is not only for sweethearts but a day of love and friendship for all . Dia del amor!

valenitnes day 006

I have started a tradition where I give all the workers a rose to take home to their wives so again I did it this year.It is such a pleasure to see the smiles on their faces and the jokes that are made about how happy their wives would be.

Oh Valerie we will be hugged all night now! Laughing as they said this .

I told them this is for your wife if you have a lover then you will have to buy her a plastic one. Maurico said ,”I dont have enough money to buy for all my lovers!” You wish! I retorted .This brought a roar of laughter from the other boys who then began to tease Maurico laughing again as they spoke in their Maya language.

Los Musicos

I  had arranged for a duo to come and play seranadas during the evening meals and this made such a welcomed ambiance in the place that the guests did not want to leave .

Saint Valentine day is over but today takes over the Santa Elena carnival which is always the week after the Merida carnival.The musicians

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Valentines Day at The Pickled Onion

  1. Alexis says:

    Valerie, sounds like you made the day very special for a lot of people…no wonder you have so many friends around the world! Happy Valentines Day and Kung Hai Fat Choy…Happy Chinese New Year from Hong Kong…Cheers, Alexis

  2. Melissa says:

    Wat a nice thing to do. Sending a simple rose home with your employees shows how much you appreciate them and the sacrifices their spouses make each day. It’s not easy being away from the ones you love.

    My mother had made it a tradition to invite all the widows she knew to lunch on Valentine’s Day. A few homemade chocolates and companionship made the day special for all of them…

    • How thoughtful Melissa of your mother to create a tradition…..I am sure she was rewarded in many ways Just to see the look on their faces makes it all worth while. I do appreciate my staff they work very hard but the good thing is they were home earlier enough to enjoy with their loved ones the day of Valentine .

      On Sat, Feb 16, 2013 at 7:04 PM, Thepickledonionyucatan's Blog

Leave a Reply

