International Womens Club IWC Merida

It is not often I get to go into Merida and stay overnight… but last night I had the chance to…Ususally I drive into Merida early morning do the grocery thing then arrive back by lunch time….
It was so refreshing to have the luxury of staying overnight with my friend Joanna Rosado (who also writes an interesting blog about Merida)and enjoy the afternoon tea held by one of the members of the International Womens Club I W C .

Joanna

I have been a member for some years now as a way of conecting to new people in a new country.
I rarely get the chance to go to the monthly meetings or to the social events but once in awhile I do get the chance and its great to see people that I have met over the years and that have come all the way out to Santa Elena to support one of their own.
The IWC was founded in 1984 through the idea of Joanna Rosado . Thinking it would be a good idea for women to create a sort of help and social group she called a few of her friends and arranged a time and date to have a getogether .From then on it started to grow where all kind of women from different nationalities come and join in the comoradare , sharing experiences of living a new life in a different culture and accepting advise from the Mexican ladies.
It is an english speaking club but with many accents.

2

Not only do they get together to have a good time but they have a large agenda where they help young girls gain a scholership to advance in their chosen profession or to help poorer children to have better education the list goes on.

Yesterday I went with Joanna to the high tea in the home of a long time member Vilma

The gracious Vilma

The gracious Vilma

She graciously opened her doors and the women brought goodies and just generally chit chatted …. as women do!!!

It was a very pleasant afternoon and I met ladies that have recently moved here and joined the club and old friends alike………………..and the food was great!

The scrumptious goodine table

The scrumptious goodine table

 

You can find the webpage if you search IWC Merida….. I Just dont have it on hand at the moment …. if you would like to know more.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Food/drinks, Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to International Womens Club IWC Merida

  1. Andrea OhUiginn says:

    Hi Valerie,

    I am back in Chicxulub without Alexis this time but I do have my husband here for 6 weeks. I am here for 3 months. Too much snow this year

    Anyway I met someone who suggested I join the IWC Merida, I used to be a member in Mexico City 25 years ago! So I hope to go this month to the meeting. Will you be there? I hope to see you then. I may come for a visit when I have friends here visiting me.

    Take care and keep up the blog. I have one while am am here

    http://www.chicxulub.travellerspoint.com

    Cheers Andrea

    • Hi Andrea glad you back I dont think I will be able to make the meeting we have had and still continue to have a very busy season gracias a dios as they say down here! Read your blog photos look great Hope to see you soon valerie

      On Thu, Jan 10, 2013 at 6:09 PM, Thepickledonionyucatan's Blog

  2. We did have fun didn’t we? It is always a holiday when you come to town Valerie. We hope to see you next week at your wonderful Pickled Onion

    • To be with you and Jorge as a guest in your house always makes me feel welcomed . It refreshes me ready for the next step ! Thank you so much for being who you are. hugs Valerie

      On Fri, Jan 11, 2013 at 8:02 AM, Thepickledonionyucatan's Blog

Leave a Reply

