Peyote ceremony in the land of the Maya?

I put a question mark at the end of the  title because it just seemed strange that a ceremony like this would be happening in the land of the Maya.

Table of goodies brought by the shaman that had been made in his village

Table of goodies brought by the shaman that had been made in his village

The reason I agreed for this to be done is because a group of young new agers from Australia had reserved all the rooms for two nights therefore there would be no other guests that may take offence at this kind of a ceremony.

The shaman doing the fire blessing

The shaman doing the fire blessing

 

A young shaman was brought in from the north of Mexico to perform this ceremony which was supposed to start at 9 pm around a fire pit enclosed in a circle of stones and an outer  circle of stones where all the participants where  to be seated.

girls around the fire

It started late more like 11 pm . I was asked to which I thought would be a great opportunity to witness. Personally for myself I do not believe in inducing drugs to gain insight …. I consider them to be tools and one does not , in my opinion ,need tools to connect to the other side or to go within.

I must admit I was a little excited at the thought of having a ceremony on my property so off I went to get my drum ready for the chanting … I heated my drum by the fire to make the skin taught .

My drum I made when in Canada during a ceremony with the north american indians. It wasnt until I was here, in the Yucatán, that I got the inspiration to paint something on it The drawing is of Ixchel the earth mother goddess of the Maya.

Now what surprised me was that these people have come from the other side of the world to join in Maya ceremonies around the area and they did not know who the lady was on my drum!!! That’s strange , I thought, one would have thought if you are coming all the way to this part of the world to partake in Maya ceremonies ,some knowledge of the Maya gods would have been the order of the day.

Anyway the ceremony began with prayers said by the Shaman in his own language then the cleansing.

shaman and girl

The peyote was passed around .I declined. then silence as each were waiting for some miraculous thing to happen.I watched for a short while then excused myself and went off to bed!

partaking of the peyote 2

I arose the next morning early around 6 am dressed and went to check that the fire was not still burning and that all was well. To my surprise the group was just about wrapping up their all nigh vigilance…… What experiences they had ? well no one was too sure or they were just too tired to even think about it.

the group

It was difficult to get them all together to have breakfast before 9 am and even to get them on the move by 11 am which is check out time.

 

flute

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest, Spiritual/healing/energy work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peyote ceremony in the land of the Maya?

  1. Issac alonso says:

    Cual es el contacto para ir, en verdad tengo ganas de vivir esa experiencia espiritual con Dios y nuestra hermosa cultura mexicana

    • Hola Issac gracias a su commentario
      La verdad El shaman viene del norte de pais y uno del huespedes se traiga aqui asi que su groupo de Australasia se puede tomar el experiencia
      Estoy segura se puede buscas por internet mas informacion sobre esta
      que tenga buen suerte
      Valerie

Leave a Reply

