Kabah

Whilst my brother was visiting me from england it gave me the opportunity to visit some of the ruins. I never get tired of wandering around the ruins and no matter how many times I visit I always see something that I have not seen before .

This time I was able to see the latest area they had uncovered still showing signs of paint on the stones.

Kabah newly uncovered

latest find in Kabah

The inticate work of the maya are breathtaking…………. the peace and calm of the ruins is exhilerating                I also like to go and see Jesus who is a woodcarver that works at the site . He is becoming quite famous with his work and so he should. Its amazing and I would recommend anyone to go and visit him. He is very knowledgeable about the site and the history of the maya .Twice or maybe three times he has been invited to the United States to show off his art.

Jesus with the open book showing his front page photo

Jesus with the open book showing his front page photo

 

 

 

Jesus

Jesus showing some of his work in the background

I have known Jesus for many years even before starting on the venture of creating a restaurant then a hotel .His only son was very small but now his family has grown to four !!I have been to family weddings , birthdays and baptisms .He is a very personalbe young man and very enterprising with his work.His father is one of the custodians of Kabah and used to take Jesus along when he was only a young boy. So he knows the ruins of Kabah inside and out .          I did take note this time that some of the ruins on the opposite side of the road where you will find the arch of Kabah with its red hanprints of the builder still visible , have been sealed off . I was a little disappointed as I liked this side the best… maybe becasue tourists dont often go to the other side…. they always seem to be in a hurry to see all the ruins in one day. A pity really but I do understand their time is short and I am sure lots would love to stay longer.

The arch at Kabah

The arch at Kabah

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will post photos for you all to view

Maybe you already know Kabah but those who dont enjoy and maybe it will give you the urge to come and visit us .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

the palace at KabahChac palace showing combsKabah back of palaceHieroglyphLintal

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Kabah

  1. reg45 says:

    Excellent work on promoting Kabah and our mutual friend, Jesus. He is an incredible wood carver!

  2. Donna Norstadt says:

    I have been to Kabah and loved it. You are right Valerie, the tranquility when you are walking around the ruins and understanding how life must have been is amazing. These are nice photos and I enjoyed looking at them.

  3. Pat says:

    I have seen some of the ruins in Mexico and recently saw the ruins in Turkey and Greece…always amazing. Just last week I visited the Kitchener museum where there was a display of carvings , statues etc from China…What will this generation leave–all the statues etc from China…ha ha…

  4. Pat says:

    I have seen some of the ruins in Mexico and recently saw the ruins in Turkey and Greece…always amazing. Just last week I visited the Kitchener museum where there was a display of carvings , statues etc from China…What will this generation leave…? we have such a disposable society….
    .

  5. Norman and Yvonne Wilmer. says:

    Hi Valerie, Norman and I have been to the ruins once before. We really enjoyed it. Will have to make some time to take another visit, to see what we missed the last time. Your camera is taking some amazing pics. Norman and Yvonne.

  6. Heather says:

    Brings back wonderful memories of Kabah and Jesus. I know R and L have a magnificent piece by him. It’s good he’s being recognized and I hope it opens new vistas for him but not take away from his own spirit. I think you understand what I mean, Valerie. And it’s so true that tourists just have one day to see everything while we who live(d) there have the luxury of enjoying them at our leisure. How disappointing the ruins beyond the arch are sealed.

    • Thank you Heather for your responce Lets hope the ruins beyond the arch are closed for a reason Maybe they have found something exciting and are not ready to show the world. Behind the main palace they have found many more buildings that they may think was the kitchen to the palacio with lots grinding stones

      On 12/8/12, Thepickledonionyucatan's Blog

  7. Alex says:

    Hi there. My boyfriend and I were in Kabah a few months ago, and we saw these carvings, but (ill-advisedly) decided not to buy any because we weren’t sure that we would be able to carry them during our trip – something that we now seriously regret! I have been trying to find some contact information for the carver to see if we could buy some carvings and have them shipped to the U.S., and, although I haven’t been able to find any contact info, I ran across this blog, and it seems as though you may have a personal relationship with him? Do you by any chance have an e-mail address or phone number that I could reach him at? We would love to buy some of his work! Thanks! -Alex

Leave a Reply

