The Bar

Today we put the finishing touches to the new bar that was constructed in a corner of the restaurant. It was  corner that was not used too much only to host the  computer and a  few items that I used to sell . The end product looks like it has been there forever it just suits the area perfectly.All the work was done by local men from Santa Elena and what a good job they did of it.

Of course this means another job for someone in the village to work as a barman. Sad for Uxmal, the closing of Villa Archeologico but good for me as the barman had worked there for some 10 years and with the closing had lost his job.Ernesto only live 2 mins from the here so he is near his home and doesnt have to travel like before. He loves it here and how the restauraant looks especially at night.

He knows his work inside out and the cocktails look gorgeous ! I have tried a few myself even though I dont drink really….. it takes me a few hours to finish one…. I guess I would be classed as a cheap date!!!!

So if you are out and about come and pull up  a chair at the bar for nice refreshing Mojito, a nice cold beer or what ever takes your fancy.

 

View from the Bar

 

The bar furniture arrived today to put the finishing touches and in a few more weeks will come the new table and chairs that I have waited so long for. So all is complete with a new sound system given to me by my very generous friends Larry and Reg!!

And also to add to this we now have WI FI with a fast service Yeah!!

Now I have to think of a name for the bar so if anyone has any ideas let me know . I would love to see what you come up with!

 

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Bar

  1. Lee says:

    Put me down for a mojito! This sounds like a perfect way to round out the offerings of your fantastic B&B. What could be more chic?

  2. Marc says:

    The place is looking great. I am not accustomed to ordering much beyond beer, but you are tempting me to branch out. I look forward to visiting some time soon. Saludos.

  3. For a name how about “Get Pickled”! Looks really good! Can’t wait to see it for myself!

  4. Pat C. says:

    Valerie’s corner????/ or Mayan Retreat—-for the bar name….

  5. Carla says:

    Hi Valerie … looks beautiful … I like the name Pickles

  6. Donna Norstadt says:

    The bar name: The Pickle at the Pickled Onion. If one drinks too many, they could say they were pickled?

  7. So nice to see the finished bar Valerie. And just as exciting is hearing that you finally have speedy internet service. It’s tough running a business without it.
    Hope to see you again soon. I am still basking in the reverie of my last 2 day visit. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

