Amazing lunches

Amazing lunches

We have been having some rather amazing lunches prepared for the staff and myself during the July and August holidays. Food prepared from recipes from all over the world. One day we had home made pizzas, another day paella (which did not really turn out so well but hats off to the apprentice chef) Today we had a Chilean dish, can’t remember the name, but it was delicious.

Oscar is a local boy from Santa Elena who is studying to be a Chef in Merida. Already he has done three years of studying and has one more to go before completing his tuition. He will then be ready to go out and hunt for a job! I am sure he will have a lot of luck finding one maybe in Cancun or even in Merida or nearer to his home, in Uxmal . In the school they prepare the students to be more like continental chefs than to be merely Yucatecan chefs .

Italian vegetrian dish the name escapes me but it was delicious

Its been a real pleasure to have him on board here at The Pickled Onion to do his practicum .We have all learned so much and I am sure he too. His friend Miguel, who now works for me, asked me a few weeks ago if Oscar could come and do practical work in the kitchen whilst he is on vacation. Sure ,I said .So when he arrived the first day we set up an agreement that he could make our lunches and use whatever recipe he would like to do . He did go missing a couple of days though this weekend, due to one of the biggest and most popular corridas in this area, Pustinich . People come from all over for this particular fair and of course being young they wanted to stay for the dancing which starts around midnight and finishes around 5 am in the morning. When he arrived the following day there were many jokes in the kitchen about him absconding with a young female, or of just being hangover (crudo).

Mauricio my chef with Oscar showing off his talents.

He will be here another week before heading off back to University to resume his studies .So lets see what the coming week brings with more great dishes to enjoy.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Food/drinks, Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Amazing lunches

  1. Pat C. says:

    Hello again,
    The description of the food along with the picture is making my tummy growl. I would like to be closer so I could try out the fare. I am saving all your blogs so I can show my sis in law when she arrives in Oct for her visit. She will be looking at a warm country for the winter and who knows she may end up in your restaurant…Keep blogging…and thanks for sharing

    Pat C., Hamilton, Ontario

  2. Pat C. says:

    Hello Valerie, I will know more come October when my sis in law arrives at my house. I will pass the message on.

    Thanks, Pat

  3. steve says:

    Hello my friend! I wish to say that this article is awesome, great written and come with almost all vital infos.

    I would like to see extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

