Its done and ready to rent!

The new luxury casita is now done and ready to rent!!!

Last time I built a room it was the quiet season  thinking it would be less stressful.. Well wrong , I like the quiet time to catch up on reading,painting or just enjoying my place.But the business of the workers coming in 7 am meant that I could not sneak an extra half hour in bed.. So I chose to built the latest one in the busy season.. again silly me!

!It was exhausting to say the least checking,measuring,buying construction material . You see when you build in rural areas like this you become the main contractor,the archetect and much more.. good that now the plumber and electrican know me well enough thet when they saw I was busy and they needed stuff they would run and get it , bring me the bill then I would inturn run down to the local ironmongers to pay. Even now the store owners have confidence in me so I dont have to pay immediatly which really helped me out a lot.

The stonemason began doing the same… Valerie we need more cement… Please Milo can you go on your tricycleta and pick up what you need…. No problem !Valeria ,He would answer, and off he would go.These little acts of kindness helped in no uncertain terms.

What I did find amusing when it came to the Palapa roof, the palaperos asked if I would contract the work out rather than pay daily. Surely I said . We worked on a price and low and behold instead of taking two weeks it was up and done in one week!!!!

But all turned out well and all the workers are in awe of the new room……..Yes there is loft too.. Next week will come the stairs and furniture for a seating area.. They did a great job  (ALL local workers )and they had lots of patience with me… I feel so fortunate to have these wonderful maya working along side of me taking all my idiosyncrisites which caused lots of laughter and jokes . But whats that saying laugh and the world laughs with you cry and you dry alone……… how true.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The room comes with all one could want

Refridge,coffee maker,hairdryer,toiletries hot water,drinking water… Oh and if its your honeymoon be it the first,second,third….. then you just may find a bottle of bubbly to celebrate….

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Its done and ready to rent!

  1. Alexis Hum says:

    Valerie, the new casita looks fantastic…love the stonework in the shower and the loft is a very nice touch!
    Cheers, hope to come and try it out sometime…. Alexis

  2. Wow. Fantastic, lovely, beautiful. You always have such good taste. This room is sure to be a crowd pleaser. What did you name it?

  3. Heather says:

    Beautiful addition, Valerie. Congratulations to you and your workers. What a journey from the dream to reality and it’s still not over..

  4. Marc says:

    Well, I was one of the first to rent the new casita, having spent two nights there last week, and wish to report that it meets all expectations. It’s quiet, comfortable, and has a very pleasant ambiance. Thanks, Valerie, for making our stay so great.

  5. Barb says:

    Absolutely lovely!

Leave a Reply

