pollo pibil or pollo yucatecan……..a comparison

How does one compare a main course dish which are of two different ways  of preparation  and from two different restaurants

I felt compelled to write this to inform people of the difference between Pollo in Achiote (or as some know it as Pollo Yucatecan) and Pollo Pibil.

The reason you may ask is why is she doing this ? Well one reason is so that when one comes to Yucatan you will know the difference between dishes and the other is because the chicken that we cook here Pollo pibil was condemned by a reviewer on the internet.

Unfortunately I could not respond, as it was not written on my site,  of a well-known travel page . So I thought I would introduce to you readers of my blog page the difference

Pollo pibil is cooked in banana leaves baked in the oven with achiote,sour orange,garlic,onions,green peppers,tomatoes oregano salt and pepper oh and a few leaves of epazote a herb that is grown here and is readily available. I actually have it growing in my garden.

But to continue as I mentioned all the ingredients are placed in a baking dish and also topped off with banana leaves and roasted slowly in the oven.

Presentation of the pollo pibil at the pickled onion

Pollo Pibil

Pollo in Achiote  You take chicken legs and boil them  in a  pot for a short time with (well here anyway when I make it for the staff)spices, onion,green pepper,garlic and pepper

Once cooked take from the pot and let cool then adding them to a mixture of achiote and sour orange. Once marinated they are then deep fried in lots of oil until brown and crispy .This is usually accompanied with red marinated onions on top and rice and usually a small salad and of course beans.

Pollo in ahciote that the people raved about in another local restaurant !

Pollo Yucatecan

I used the traveller’s photo as it is not copywrited.

So two dishes with a completely different taste, each one touching different senses …. I was quite surprised by the comment that was made and wondered how one can distinguish between such two different dishes.

As for the commentators I really hope they read this and maybe they will have a better perspective of Yucatan food.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Food/drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to pollo pibil or pollo yucatecan……..a comparison

  1. Thanks for posting the difference between these 2 dishes. I have eaten both at various restaurants on several occasions. I prefer the pollo pibil because the meat is usually more tender. I find that the pollo Yucatecan is made with the chicken legs which tend to tougher then the legs in the United States. In the US, a chicken fryer is only 6-8 weeks old so the meat is tender. I love the flavor of the pollo Yucatecan but do not like the tougher meat. Just my preference.

  2. Marc says:

    Reading about either one makes me hungry.

    I’m coming to visit you soon to enjoy the tranquility of Santa Elena and to savor some fine meals at the Pickled Onion.

    Abrazos y besos.

Leave a Reply

