Onto Xpuhil

Leaving Kohunlich I decided to head back to Xpuhil and back to the hotel .I had time before dusk to visit the ruins of Xpuhil just on the outskirts of the same small town.Im glad I did!

I was spellbound of what I saw . Built in the typical Rio Bec style with towers joined by a lower range of rooms.The unusual feature of this building is that there are three towers rather than the normal two. The Rio Bec ruins sadly I didnt get a chance to see to compare but another day!

Xpuhil towers

What it would have looked like

I took a photo of what it would have looked like in its time. Quite impressive I would say!

I wandered aroung the back of the building to get a better look at the towers . The back was just impressive to me as the front with its height and rounded corners.

Viiew of the back of the main tower

I didnt stay too long as it was close on dusk and the mosquitos are pretty bad in this area.I left, got gassed up, ready for my trip to Calakmul the next day.

 

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Onto Xpuhil

  1. Xpuhil is located south of Hopelchen in the vicinity of Calakmul .Its on the main hiway from Escarcega and Chetumal.

  2. Xpuhil is south of Hopelchen on the main highway from Escarcega/Chetumal

  3. smokesilver says:

    I just finished your posts of your travels through the Mayan towns. Nice pics and I enjoyed the narrative. In the past I have read about the restaurant, the Pickled Onion. At first I didn’t assume the connection. I guess that there is a connection. Where to next?

    • Onto Calalmul………………. yes the connection is the pickled onion yucatan.I write the blog really to inform people that if travelling to the yucatan there is more to see than they realize especially around Uxmal and St ELena

Leave a Reply

