Fresh fresh fresh fruits of the season in Yucatan

I love the time of year when the pithaya and saramuyo (not sure this is spelt right) are in season.These two exotic fruits I can say are amongst some of my favourites since coming to live in the Yucatan.

Pithaya and saramuyo fruits

The pitahaya is from the cactus family and attaches itself to trees as you can see in the photo.

Pithaya growning on a tree

In china it is known as dragon fruit and I have seen it in the markets in Canada but there is no better flavor than taking it straight from the tree and eating fresh or making a delicious liquado(fruit juice). The colours and shape alone make this fruit more interesting for my clients that have the chance to taste it with their morning plate of fruit.

The saramuyo I believe and have been told that it a fruit tree that has been cultivated for its flavour for eons. It has lots of black ,large shiny  seeds inside but the meat is tasty and again great for fruit juices .Its causes great interest when I serve it for breakfast and is certainly a talking point.

Saramuyo plant

close up of the fruits

And I just had to throw in a photo of the baby birds that were nesting in the palm tree. I checked them everyday to see if the mother was looking after them O K . THen one day I went out to find the nest had fallen onto the floor, I think with the weight of the babies.One had fallen out so I picked him up and placed him in the nest hoping that the mother would relocate them. To which she did. So I dont know where they are at the moment but am sure they are fine.

the baby orioles I love the nest it looks like a hammock made for baby birds

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Food/drinks, Wildlife/Animals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

