The caves of X,tacumbilxuna.an

After reading Incidents of Travel in the Yucatan by Stephens and Catherwood and knowing that the drawing of the caves of X,tacumbilxuna,an were located not far from here, I thought it time to go and visit .I had tried on two other occasions a couple of years ago but the both times I went the lights were not working,  This Sunday proved to be my lucky day !

The caves are located in Campeche state just outside of Bolonchen which is about a 40 min drive from St Elena.

As I stared to descend the stairs I stopped suddenly as I heard tranquil meditation music gently flowing into the womb of the caves. I immediately had this sense of calm and peace come over me as I continue down. Along with the music was the soft voice of a narrator telling of the folk lore .It wasn’t constant talking but still it was a soothing voice.

It seemed like a long descent but it was awe-inspiring as I slowly took in  the sight and sounds around me. I had entered alone but soon came across a small group of Mexicans ,led by an official guide. As we reached the place of the long wooden stairs she pointed out the stele of natural formation which had created the form of a woman . Hence the name the hidden woman (la mujer escondida)

La Mujer Escondida

The group continued into another area which the guide said it  was quite slippery. I decided to stay put and sitting quietly alone went into meditation. It was exhilarating and felt I could have stayed for an hour or so.

I looked at all the formations around me seeing lots of images of many different animals.

The group returned and we made a slow exit from the caves but I will certainly return another day.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The caves of X,tacumbilxuna.an

  1. Barb says:

    It looks positively enchanting, especially the hidden woman. Is there a handrail on that steep set of steps?

  2. Heather says:

    This is one of the sights we had not taken while we were in the Yucatan but after your write-up we will certainly do so when we return!

  3. BerylG says:

    Valerie, I’ve never heard of this place. It looks magnificent and thanks for telling us all about it.
    Beryl

Leave a Reply

