Eclipse and Christmas turkeys

Tuesday I rose from my hammock at 1 am in the morning. For what you may ponder..

I wanted to see the full moon eclipse and also a Mexican family that was staying with me wanted to see it. I greeted them as I exited my little casita with my eyes a little glazed. We laid down on the ground and oohh,ed and Ahhh,ed  at the sight. There is a wonderful view here at the restaurant of the night sky as there are no  street lights  to interfere. Everytime it’s a full moon you can see everything its like walking in daylight.

The sky was beautifully clear and the stars shone like diamonds. I can’t say that I have ever seen the moon so high in the sky before and an amazing colour of red  crept over the moon.

 

 

  

 

Full moon eclilpse

 

Again I have to mention that I do really need a new camera. I took a photo but only a blob turned out from the black sky

I stayed only about half an hour returned to my hammock and left the family to enjoy the night sky. They told me ,over breakfast ,that they actually watched for over an hour and were very impressed by it all.

At  the beginning of the working day came Zacaria to ask if he could have the day off as there was a meeting for all the employees of the Palacio. Zacaria has another job in the evenings he is the velador(night watchman) for the museum that is next to the church. So that is why he was invited to the meeting.

I drove past were the President was giving his Christmas speech to his employees and bumped into Zacaria with a big smile on his face and a live turkey squawking in his hand.I stopped and chatted with him awhile and took this photo.

 

 

 

 

  

 

Zacaria looking happy with his gift

 

Then I was invited to go and take more photos of lots of  

Choosing a turkey

turkeys, presents for the workers.They seemed happy and content with their gifts as they were choosing which they would take home.

Lots of Turkeys

There will be some happy homes this Christmas but the actual toy giving is usually not until the Three Kings day on January 6th  

  

 

The man works for the water dept





 

 

 

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eclipse and Christmas turkeys

  1. Heather says:

    Love your blog entries, Valerie.
    Norm and I wish you a Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2011 filled with good health, positive thoughts and peace!

Leave a Reply

