A surprised carpenter

Keno, is my carpenter who lives here in St Elena. He has done most of the woodwork for me here at the hotel and restuarant.Book shelves, doors,  windows,cupboards and beds.

He has done so much work for me that he now considers me his friend. And I  now consider him my friend too. We understand one another quite well and have a good repore with his working ethics.

The first building he outfitted for me was of course windows and doors which I wanted in the typical maya style.Everything was made very solid and I was very happy with the appearance.Not perfect but what is perfect . I was just as happy even with some small imperfections . It just fitted in well with my theme.

I began explaining to him how I wanted the queen size bed to be made . No problems there, all understood until I asked him to put wheels on the bottom of the  four corners of the bed. His look of ……….. what the heck is she talking about , amused me.I explained the reason for wanting him to do (for him) an unusual request .Its because I want to move the bed easily for cleaning, I said to him.

The Bed, also the headboard is my design too

 Then the light went on in his eyes as he understood. Ay Valeria , you have such good ideas I would like to change my head for yours so that I can think like you, laughing as he spoke. No I said, but if you like you can buy my ideas and we,ll both get rich, again both of us laughing.

Keno,s workshop

Inside Keno,s workshop

A few weeks later I walked into his workshop looking for more work to be done and there was Keno making a bed for someone in the village.I guess you know whats coming next. Yes, he was putting wheels on the bottom.   How neat is that I thought, with just a little idea like this it will benefit lots of people in the village  and make life much easier for them.

Now all I have to do is organize a bed race in town that would really be something to see here in small St Elena .

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

