Surprise visitor

 

Today I had a surprise visitor and what a pleasure to see him even though he only stayed for a short time. I wished he had stayed longer to enjoy more time with him but he seemed as if he was in a hurry to leave.  Zacaria, my gardener, told me he had been here for sometime waiting for me  in the garden . Again I wished Zacaria had told me earlier, to have had more time with my visitor  would have been a real pleasure . I did manage to take a couple of photos of him which made me very happy.

Normally his favourite place is by the coast also near large lagoons where he can spread out and relax or eat to his heart content . I considered myself privileged  that he would pay me a visit from so far away(I think flying time  having been  about 2 hours or so)

Who was my visitor ? None other than a Great Egret (sac no hoch bok , in Maya). He strolled around the place with an elegance of a Knightly Prince ,well-groomed, donned in pure white feathers . His black feet and yellow bill predominately illuminated against the pure white of his body, he was a sight to behold. As he strolled around  the garden with an elegant air about him, I was struck how sure-footed he was , how calmly he walked with  his head held high and mighty.No sense of fear seemed to surround him . I thought what can we learn from him……..To walk sure-footed  and elegant through life without sense of fear ! You see, animals  come to us to remind us of life and how we should live… By observing nature we can learn much and by practicing in our daily lives it will enrich us and others around us.

How can I not love my home here in St Elena Yucatán Mexico when we get surprise visitors like Mr Egret. I feel so lucky to be here.

Footnote, The Grande Egret after being an endangered species because of hunting for its feathers ,that were  used in women’s accessories , populations have recovered. You can find them in coastal wetlands,and lagoons of the Yucatán Peninsula including inland waterholes.

Its prey consists of frogs,fish and small snakes ,although it will eat insects and other reptiles

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Wildlife/Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

