Where do I shop for supplies

Many visitors to the restaurant ask me, where do you shop for supplies as you are so far away from everything.

When I first opened it was a question on my mind too. Fortunatley having lived in the nearby town of Ticul I knew the market very well . Mostly all came from that market, meat, small selection of veggies and fruits etc

Inside Ticul Market

.You may ask why dont you buy in St Elena ,well on odd occasions I do but its very limited as to what you can buy and as for a market there really isnt one. Meat is sold on the corner street as well as other merchandise but really only basic things. At one time a market was built for the use of the townspeople but it never really functioned as the people said it was too far to go shopping, although its near the centre square and the palacio

El Tigre in St Elena where I buy my newspaper everyday

Dona Isabella,s store in St Elena where I buy occasionally

More shopping in St Elena

Fruit and Veggies on display in Ticul

And whatever else you can imagine (Ticul)

Apart from shopping in Ticul I would make a bi/weekly run to the city of Merida about 1 1/2 hour drive away to buy things that I could not find

Even pirate C D and Videos (Ticul)

in Ticul.I was also  happy that I had lived in Merida for a few months and got to know the city pretty well.So I would zoom in  early morning,do the shopping and zoom out again to be back in time for the lunch time crowd.

Over the last two years, for me , things  have improved with the opening of two super stores  in Ticul.Ahhh! sigh of relief when I heard that Super Che would be opening doors before christmas,(2008) Then a year later came Aurrera Bodega  (owned my no less than WALMART). The standards are not as good as in Merida but then one gets to know the best days to buy  for freshness .

The trips to Merida are now less frequent  but still hectic but at least now I have competent staff that I can trust to serve you well with breakfast lunch and dinner.

Lychees

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

