Teaching takes a twist

One of my favourite dishes is Brazo de Reina (the arms of the queen) made with masa….. a dough like mixture made from ground corn…… Similar to a tamale.Originally the dough encloses boiled eggs but I like it with just cheese in the middle topped off with lots of fresh tomato salsa.

But today I was teaching one of my employees how to make it . Yes you read right I was teaching a Mexican how to make one of his own special platos . This brought lots of laughter in the kitchen and so we continued.

Preparing Brazo De Reina

To the masa we added  chopped chaya (see my blog on chaya) salt ,oil and a little water and mixed together thoroughly. We then filled the mixture with cheese and wrapped up the tamale like masa with banana leaves  From this it was placed into a Bana de Maria to steam for about 40  mins or so .The smell

Ready for cooking

Increases as the heat and the pot does its stuff.Mmmm time for a cup of tea!

The time has passed now ready for tasting topped with fresh tomato salsa a little grated cheese on top Mmmm yummie!
THe finished product ready for tasting

 

 

 This dish makes a great alternative for the vegetarians out there and is quite filling.

I hope this article dispells the theory that one person wrote on trip advisor that all foods in my kitchen are pre bought, frozen and re-heated and that nothing is actually made on site.

So why dont you come out and try it but call me first so I can be prepared.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Food/drinks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teaching takes a twist

  1. I can personally vouch for the food prepared by you and your charming assistants in the kitchen – it is always fresh, tasty and filling. My guests whom I occasionally have the opportunity to take there are always pleased – it’s a pleasure to enjoy a good home-cooked meal while enjoying the view from your terrace over the highway. Good on ya, Valerie! This month has seen a marked increase in bookings and I hope to be able to pop in and have a bite. How much advance notice do you need for the Brazo de Reina dish?

    Cheers, W

Leave a Reply

