7 years of waiting

After 7 years of waiting the day   finally arrived yesterday…. and what a fantastic surprise for me. They said on numerous occasion that they would come and visit but then I started to think it would never happen. I so much wanted them to see my place, my oasis in the jungle,my creation ,the area in which I live, the local culture, fauna,flora and of course the wonderful maya ruins.

My son and his family were able to manage a one night stopover, driving all the way from their Cancun, all inclusive, hotel  . Their holiday from Canada was short , only one week,but Andrew was determined to come and see me. They hired a car and arrived yesterday around 1.30pm, a little exhausted with the drive,the uncertainty of how to arrive here and driving in a foreign country takes its toll.

It has been nearly two years since I saw them last as I was unable to make the trip back to Canada last year due to expansion of  buildings etc.

They walked around the property, wide eyed taking all in with disbelieve that I had created all that there is and what more to come.

They settled in for a couple of hours as we played catchup a little, then off to the Chocolate museum towards the end of the day when the sun was not so hot!

DSCN0806

My son Andrew and family

Of course the monkeys where a hit as was the tasting of the chocolate. Kim, my daughter in law said ,”this is the best part of all our holidays”

Chocolate tasting

Chocolate tasting

For dinner they all tried the Plato Yucatecan, a mixture of traditional foods of the Yucatan , on one plate then decided to have a second, which we all shared.

As well as Conner and Emily trying out the hammocks in the room I think Andrew and Kim had a try too!

We did a quick trip to the centre of Santa Elena as I had to buy products for the kitchen but they got to meet quite a few of the store owners and to  experience a short time in the small village.

They rose early for breakfast and I had arranged my day so we could all go to Uxmal for a couple of hours before they headed back to Cancun ready for their flight back to Canada tomorrow. The photo below I took to show the comparison between us humans and the magnificent Uxmal pyramid

From a distance

From a distance

The staff treated them like family and I was pleased that the staff had a chance to meet my family.

I have a feeling I may not have to wait another 7 years for a return visit.

About thepickledonionyucatan

Born in England emigrated to Canada and now reside in the Yucatan Mexico. LIfe is a journey so enjoy as much as you can
This entry was posted in Local News/Happenings/interest, Uxmal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 7 years of waiting

  1. Heather says:

    wonderful family reunion! We’re sure they were awed by your loving oasis of beauty created from your vision, Valerie.

  2. joan hall says:

    I feel so privileged to be there enjoying lunch when your family arrived Valerie. your son and his family seemed happy to see you, too…..and such big warm hugs you got from each of them!!! Wasn’t it nice for each of us to meet each others children….love joan

  3. DiAnn Bottomley says:

    They are so lucky to have you in their lives! What great inspiration & mentoring they have in you!

  4. Marc says:

    I can tell how happy you are, Valerie. I am sure they will return soon. (So will I)

  5. Barb says:

    How lovely that they came to see you and what a treat for you!

  6. princesanancy2012 says:

    Oh Valerie, what a fun time you had. I know what it feels like to have your only son comes and visit. Wonderful ! So happy for you all.

  7. What a wonderful tale of a family reunion! I’m sure they couldn’t help but be both impressed and reassured by what their mother has created in her adopted home.
    Hmm,,, Wouldn’t it be fun if another year they can come to help celebrate our March birthdays (I’m scheming on how to make that happen soon with our own kids…).

  8. Joan says:

    Sounds like they were so proud and awestruck with what you have created Valerie, and as they’ve had a little taste of paradise, I know they will be back. Wonderful memories being made …very happy for you.

Leave a Reply

